Questions about the educational system in the Netherlands

A place to discuss about the country, its lifestyle and culture

Modérateur: Moderators thisforum.nl

Questions about the educational system in the Netherlands

Messagepar languageLearner » 16 Oct 2013 9:41

Greetings,
I'm a student that is researching how english is taught in non-native countries, and since the Netherlands is one of the best rating in such thing, I decided to look for its historical, economical and educational data.
But, unfortunately, there are certain questions that are currently out of my grasp.
I wanted to ask questions such as: How many hours per week are taught of english in Primary School, Secondary School and University? How do they teach the lessons in class and how do people normally apply their lessons (TV, internet, videogames)?
languageLearner

Re: Questions about the educational system in the Netherland

Messagepar bondjou » 16 Oct 2013 21:03

Hi,

For what I know, scheduled hours vary from one school to another. A school has an educational projet focusing on various things thus, how may hours/week? It depends!
Then why is English language so present in the Netherlands?
That is a cultural thing and financial thing too.
Cultural: The Netherlands are neighbours of the UK, therefore, they get influence from that side a bit more than from the Germans of which they aren't close friends (historical).
Financial: Dutch, among other "regional" languages (such as Danish, Hungarian, ...) is spoken mostly in the Netherlands. Their entertainment industry is not so big thus, they consume a lot of American productions which are most of the time, Dutch sub-titled. It would be far more expensive to dub all movies and series.
The only exception however are children programs.